Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: dr. flashback Date: Aug 20, 2005 10:26pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Excellent, StrawRider. I couldn't have put it better myself! I reserve 5 stars for only my top 5-10 shows for a year. And I have yet to bother to review any 1-2 star shows, although I might later. As you say, there may be a 1969 show for instance, with bad hiss, missing songs and sketchy playing - but with a really good Dark Star. That would get 2 stars from me.
There's just so many great 4 and 5 star shows, who has time to write about why some other shows aren't good? Anyway, your system and comments are a good contribution to the consensus among reviewers. Thanks! So - what Dead show are YOU listening to with your Sunday coffee?
Dr. Flashback :-)

This post was modified by dr. flashback on 2005-08-21 05:26:48

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: StrawRider Date: Aug 21, 2005 12:56am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

I'm about to load the Feb. 24, 1974 Winterland show into my ipod so I can listen to that awesome Dark Star I've been missing out on! How about you?
I see your reviewing shows from 1977 now...cool!

This post was modified by StrawRider on 2005-08-21 07:56:11

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: dr. flashback Date: Aug 21, 2005 1:07am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Ha ha. Better put on an extra pot of coffee. This show is 4 discs long. One of my top 5 for 1974, or ANY year for that matter. God what a show! Yeah, the Dark Star is probably the best of 1974. You'll never be the same!
cheers,
Dr. Flashback :-)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: cream-puff-war Date: Aug 21, 2005 12:28am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

I'm listening to 1969-02-27.

I appreciate the efforts made by the reviewers of vintage '60s shows - especially when details are pointed out as to what makes the set sound particularly worthwhile, or unusual though on the surface familiar...
and sure, sound quality matters, within the context of the time's limits.


Reviews can help in discerning, for example, other worthy late '68/early '69 sets significantly different than Live Dead era picks such as the 02-27 through 03-01 run.

For example the (albeit short set) - 1968-10-20 show at the Berkeley Greek Theatre:
http://www.archive.org/audio/etree-details-db.php?id=15523


Btw, do any archive reviewers have comments re: the recently released 1966 Oddities GD cd?


Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: StrawRider Date: Aug 21, 2005 2:07am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Sorry, can't help you on the oddities yet, too much music to digest with my coffee!

Watch out for 2-27-69 'cause they bring out the monkeys on the second set! Definately one of my favorites from 69. Bless this place and everyone who works at making it the best thing since the bus came by and we all got on!